What’s the deal with coverings?

My mom wore a covering when I was young but since we were always in liberal churches that practice soon stopped.   I don’t know if the Mennonite Church evolved over time in its understanding of scripture or if it just became so liberal that it didn’t matter anymore.  I never dated a girl with a covering – I was always afraid that they were hiding something like a bald spot or premature gray hair.

The basis for the practice of coverings comes from the scripture:   I Corinthians 11:12-13  For as woman came from man, so also man is born of woman. But everything comes from God.   Judge for yourselves: Is it proper for a woman to pray to God with her head uncovered?

There are many styles of coverings. I am certainly no expert but lets take a look at a few.  Maybe you will find one that you like.

covering2

The is the full head covering with strings.   Women who wear these have a secret desire to ride motorcycles.

covering1

The solid cloth version which is appropriate for colder climates and greasy hair days.

covering6

I’m not familiar with this style.  They are either expandable or for days when an iron is not available.

covering9

The basic doilie.  It is practical since it can be also used on an end table.

covering8

The ghetto cover/hoody model for the urban Mennonites.  I’m not sure if they are accepted by the Bishop but they are used in many cities.

covering12

I’m sorry but I don’t approve of this line.  They are an attempt to wear a covering but be modern and fashionable at the same time.  It doesn’t really work as a head covering and it is not fashionable either.

Finally, This is the basic covering.  It was my mom’s model.  No strings, lace or anything frilly.   If it was a car, it would be a 4 door Chevy.  Very practical and appropriate.

covering3

Leave a Reply

